Z2
Wissenschaftsförderung

Mikroorganismen: Kultivierung und Einzelzellanalysen

Die Hauptaufgabe des Z2-Projektes ist die Entwicklung einer Plattform, welche die Isolierung und Identifizierung von Mikroorganismen ermöglicht, die mit Tier- und Pflanzenmetaorganismen assoziiert sind. Diese werden im SFB 1182 mit standardisierten Werkzeugen in allen Teilprojekten untersucht. Für dieses Ziel werden etablierte Methoden und Medien für die mikrobielle Kultivierung, sowie modernste Werkzeuge zur Trennung und Analyse einzelner Zellen eingesetzt. Das Ziel ist eine hohe Standardisierung in folgenden Bereichen zu erreichen:

(i) Isolierung und Identifizierung von Wirt-assoziierten Mikroorganismen, die schwer anzureichern sind und sich nur schwer in reinen Kulturen vermehren lassen, sowie die Entwicklung neuer Instrumente.

(ii) Strukturanalyse der mikrobiellen Gemeinschaft eines Wirte mit Hilfe eines 16S-rRNA-Sequenzierungs-Ansatzes, wobei koordinierte Protokolle für die DNA-Extraktion verwendet werden, um vergleichbare Datensätze für die Wirt assoziierten Konsortien in allen SFB 1182-Projekten zu gewährleisten.

(iii) Fluoreszenz aktivierter Zellsortierung (FACS) wird als Werkzeug um einzelne mikrobielle oder eukaryotische Zellen aus komplexen Gemeinschaften zu trennen eingesetzt, wodurch Einzelzellanalyse (z. B. Einzelzellgenomik), sowie die Kultivierung von langsam wachsenden Bakterien ermöglicht wird.

 

Z2
Researchers

Researchers

Filter by

Role Alle
Institution Alle

Institutions & Partners

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies and our privacy policy.

Z2

Microorganism: Culture and single cell analysis

The main purpose of the Z2-project is the development of a platform that allows the isolation and identification of microorganisms associated with animal and plant metaorganisms that will be studied within the CRC 1182 using standardized tools throughout all subprojects. Established methods and media for microbial cultivation as well as cutting edge tools for separating and analyzing single cells will be employed towards this goal. Overall we aim to achieve a high standardization of:

(i) isolation and identification of host-associated microorganisms, which are difficult to enrich and to grow in pure cultures, including development of new tools, and

(ii) of hosts’ microbial community structure analysis by 16S rRNA sequencing approaches by coordinated protocols for DNA extraction, in order to guarantee comparable data sets of host associated consortia throughout all CRC 1182 projects.

(iii) Furthermore, fluorescence activated cell sorting (FACS) will be employed as a tool to singularize individual microbial or eukaryotic cells from complex consortia and allow single cell analysis (e.g. single cell genomics) as well as cultivation of slow growing bacteria.

Researchers

Julia-Vanessa Böge

Technician
Kiel University Institute for General Microbiology GEOMAR - Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

Publications

2016

CRC1182 PublicationShedding light on cell compartmentation in the candidate phylum Poribacteria by high resolution visualisation and transcriptional profiling.

Jahn M T, Markert S M, Ryu T, Ravasi T, Stigloher C, U Hentschel, Moitinho-Silva L (2016); Scientific Reports, 6:35860. doi: 10.1038/srep35860